clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FUT 17 releases Ligue 1 POTY Cavani, YPOTY Mbappe SBCs

New, 1 comment

There was no competition for either of these awards, this was expected.

EA Sports

On Monday, the Ligue 1 had its annual awards evening to celebrate the stars of the French game. During the event, EA kept posting hints that SBCs might be released for the winners of the two biggest awards - ‘Player of the Year’ and ‘Young Player of the Year.’

As expected, ST Edinson Cavani was selected as the best player in the league, and ST Kylian Mbappe-Lottin won the YPOTY award.

Cavani has had possibly his best season in France, scoring 51 goals in all competitions (an astounding 35 in Ligue 1, eight in the Champions League, and six in domestic cups) this season.

Mbappe, on the other hand, has flourished in Leonardo Jardim’s rotation, propelling Monaco to a Champions League semi-final berth. The French prodigy has scored 14 goals and assisted eight in Ligue 1, while also scoring six in European competition. In domestic cups, he has five more goals for a grand total of 25 this season.

The SBC cards were first revealed on FIFA 17’s snapchat, which featured photos of the two items as well as the time that they would be released.

At 10 p.m. UK (9 p.m. GMT, 5 p.m. ET), EA released two special SBCs that players can complete to unlock these cards. Each SBC has four sub-challenges, with some nice rewards.

The SBCs are actually pretty affordable - for Cavani, you need to turn in a special version of Cavani, a Ligue 1 team with 2 IFs, a Calcio A team and a team with some Uruguayan. Mbappe’s SBC requires you to turn in a special version of Mbappe, an 83-rated squad, and teams with AS Monaco and French players.

Both SBCs are available for the next seven days; they will expire on May 22nd.